Older Americans Act


What is the Older Americans Act?

Congress passed the Older Americans Act (OAA) in 1965 in response to concern by policymakers about a lack of community social services for older persons. In turn, Area Agencies on Aging (AAAs) were created in 1974 by the Older Americans Act with the mission of creating home and community-based services to maximize the independence and dignity of older adults. AAA’s are a nationwide network of nonprofit agencies, created by Congress to be one-stop shops with information about programs, services, and housing options. The Supporting Older Americans Act of 2020 reauthorizes these programs for FY 2020 through FY 2024. You can learn more here.

The Area Agency on Aging of Western Michigan (AAAWM) serves a nine-county region: Allegan, Ionia, Kent, Lake, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Newaygo, and Osceola, and administers the Older Americans Act funding for the region.


What services does it provide for older adults?

Funding comes primarily from the Federal Older Americans Act and the State Older Michiganians Act. In FY 24 (October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2023) the Area Agency on Aging of Western Michigan has contracts with 28 service partners throughout the nine-county region for services such as Adult Day Care, Caregiver Support programs, Home Delivered Meals, Homemaker, Outreach & Assistance, and Transportation.

You can see all of the services available in our region by searching our online directory here

Or, you can download a pdf version of the 2024 Older Americans Act Services Directory here.

2023 Older Americans Act Services Directory in Spanish

2023 Older Americans Act Services Directory in Vietnamese

2023 Older Americans Act Services Directory in Arabic

Contact us for more information about available services.